Welcome. The Sustainable Development Scorecard is a means of assessing a development's contribution to the social, economic and environmental pillars of sustainable development, as defined by the National Planning Policy Framework.

  • Text size

  • A A



The updated 2018 National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF) retains a presumption in favour of sustainable development’. However, there is no clear-cut, NPPF-based assessment criteria to consider a site or project’s sustainable development credentials, making current assessment processes both tricky and subjective.

Chaired by former planning minister, Nick Raynsford, the Sustainable Development Commission was set up to address this recognised issue with our planning system. Made up of a balanced cross-section of industry professionals, the Commission has debated the issues and found solutions, culminating in the creation of the Sustainable Development Scorecard.

You can watch a video with more detail on the Commission and background to the Scorecard here: https://vimeo.com/244731848


Nick Raynsford

Heading up the Sustainable Development Commission, Nick Raynsford, is a former British Labour Politician. Nick was formerly the Member of Parliament for Greenwich and Woolwich (standing down in 2015) and a government Planning Minister (from 1997 to 2005).

Janet Askew

Janet Askew, a Consultant Town Planner, is the former president of RTPI. Janet started her career as a planning officer for Shetlands Island Council, later becoming a lecturer then Head of Planning and Architecture at the University of West England.

Sue Smith

Sue Smith was the Joint Chief Executive at Cherwell District Council and South Northamptonshire Council (having recently stood down from the role). Sue was instrumental in implementing the joint working initiative across the two councils.

Stephen Ashworth

Stephen Ashworth is a partner at multinational law firm Dentons. Stephen advises on planning, public and regulatory law with a focus on residential and infrastructure regeneration projects. Stephen is rated as one of the top 6 lawyers in the Planning Magazine guide to Planning Lawyers.

Roy Foster

Roy Foster is a retired planning inspector who spent over 30 years with the planning inspectorate working on over 20 local plan examinations and enquiries across England.

Shaun Spiers

Shaun Spiers, first appointed in 2004, is the former Chief Executive of the Campaign to Protect Rural England (CRPE). Shaun has also been a Member of European Parliament representing London South East.

Edward Dixon

Edward Dixon leads on corporate sustainability projects at Landsec and has a background in construction project management and development. Ed has an MBA from Cass Business School and has a track record of delivering successful corporate sustainability projects his previous roles at Mace and M&S.

Ian MacLeod

Ian MacLeod is the Assistant Director for Planning and Regeneration for the UK’s largest planning authority, Birmingham City Council. Ian has worked for Birmingham City Council, initially as a planner, since 2002. Ian leads on some of the Borough’s largest projects including the Birmingham Development Plan and the Birmingham Advanced Manufacturing Hub.

Iceni Projects

The forward-thinking, planning-led consultancy, Iceni Projects launched the Sustainable Development Commission in April 2016 - bringing together revered industry professionals to generate rigorous, and much needed debate.

For more information about the NPPF please visit: